
 
 
A written permit is required by law for any open burn in the State of Maine 
 
As of April 16, 2015, the following changes are in effect regarding the Issuing of burning 
permits. 
 
Burning permits will no longer be issued by the staff at the town office. 
 
Permits can be obtained by contacting one of the officers of the Otisfield Fire Department.  
There is no charge for permits obtained directly from an officer.  This is one of the services that 
our department provides to our taxpayers, but please understand that each of them have full-
time jobs and availability may be limited.   Due to many of our officers and members working 
out of town during the weekday, we strongly encourage those who wish to burn to plan to do 
so on weekends.   All open burning permits will be issued in strict accordance with the State of 
Maine Rules and Guidelines for Open Burning  
 
Permits may be purchased online at Maine Online Burning Permits. This online service allows 
people to purchase an open burning permit 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Permits are $7.00 
each and $2.00 from each permit goes to the organized municipality where it was purchased. 
 
Please read the Rules & Guidelines for open burning before you burn. 
 
For a written permit, call one of the following Fire Department Officers: 
 
Chief Kyle Jordan  744-5013 
Deputy Chief Jared Damon 557-8773 
Captain Mike Hooker  890-3510 
Lieutenant Lenny Alder 627-4610 
 
For more information regarding open burning, or any other Fire Department related questions, 
contact Chief Jordan at otisfieldfire1@gmail.com 
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